domenica 22 maggio 2011

Las Vegas Dinner Show - 1973

Las Vegas Dinner Show
(TCB Records) (Liberated Boot) (aud)
15 February 1973 -

During this show Elvis had to leave the stage due to ill health caused by a throat infection - and you can hear how rough he feels as he struggles during You Gave Me A Mountain and Fever.  He clearly shouldn't have been on stage at all.  We therefore get the bonus of hearing five songs by J D Sumner and the Stamps which is a rare treat.  On his return Elvis sings his show closer Can't Help Falling In Love after which he decides to continue the show after all and battles on manfully through five more songs including a second rendition of Can't Help Falling In Love which can't have done his throat any good at all.
The show was also released by White Haven under the title Sweet Sweet Spirit and is clearly from the same source as the TCB Records release as the breaks outlined below occur at the same points.  Las Vegas Dinner Show has far better sound than Sweet Sweet Spirit which is full of flaws and best avoided.  This version shows that the original tape is pretty good for an audience recording.  You can hear everything very clearly.

Set List
01 Opening Overture
02 See See Rider
03 I Got A Woman/Amen
04 Love Me Tender
05 You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
06 Steamroller Blues
07 You Gave Me A Mountain
08 Fever
09 Lonesome Road (J D Sumner & The Stamps)
10 Sweet Sweet Spirit (J D Sumner & The Stamps)
11 When It's My Time (J D Sumner & The Stamps)
12 How Great Thou Art (J D Sumner & The Stamps)
13 Crucified (J D Sumner & The Stamps)
14 Can't Help Falling In Love
15 Faded Love
16 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
17 Polk Salad Annie
18 American Trilogy
19 Can't Help Falling In Love
20 Final Announcement


Nessun commento:

Posta un commento